Summary

Archiving a class makes it inaccessible to students. The classroom will still be part of your classrooms list for viewing statistics, but any questions associated with active assignments will continue to be blocked for students.

Every summer, we automatically archive classrooms to help teachers ease the transition into the new school year. We provide warning email notifications before our automatic archiving each summer and teachers can always reverse the automatic archiving if they want to continue using a class.

Why archive a class?

Archiving a class when a school year is over and creating a new class for the next school year is much easier than removing students and adding new ones to the same class.

Archiving-and-recreating allows you to be able to reference past class data to analyze patterns from the past for future classes and is a best practice for recordkeeping.

How to archive a class

If you'd like to manually archive a classroom, you can do so by:

  1. Click Classes in the top navigation.
  2. Click into the Class you'd like to archive.
  3. Click Settings.
  4. Click Archive Class.
  5. Click to confirm that you'd like to archive the class.

How to Unarchive

If you'd like to manually unarchive a classroom:

  1. Click Classes in the top navigation.
  2. Click View archived classes.
  3. Click View on the class you'd like to unarchive.
  4. Click the Settings sub-tab.
  5. Click Unarchive class.
  6. Confirm that you'd like to unarchive the class.

Did this answer your question?