Summary

Archiving a class makes it inaccessible to students. You can still view assignments and statistics, but the class will be unavailable to students.

We automatically archive classrooms to help teachers ease the transition into the new school year every summer. We provide warning email notifications before our automatic archiving each summer and teachers can always reverse the automatic archiving if they want to continue using a class.

Why archive a class?

When a school year is over, archiving a class and creating a new class for the next school year is much easier than removing students and adding new ones to the same class.

Archiving and recreating allows you to reference past class data to analyze patterns from the past for future classes and is a best practice for recordkeeping.

How to archive a class

If you'd like to manually archive a classroom, you can do so by:

  1. Click Classes in the top navigation.

  2. Click into the Class you'd like to archive.

  3. Click Settings.

  4. Click Archive Class.

  5. Click to confirm that you'd like to archive the class.

How to Un-archive

If you'd like to manually unarchive a classroom:

  1. Click Classes in the top navigation.

  2. Click View archived classes.

  3. Click View on the class you'd like to unarchive.

  4. Click the Settings sub-tab.

  5. Click Un-archive class.

  6. Confirm that you'd like to unarchive the class.

To learn more about getting set up on Albert, explore our Albert 101 mini-course on Albert Academy.

Did this answer your question?