Within your "Assignments" tab in a classroom, you will have an assignments list. From there, you can edit the time scope of the assignments list.
To see all of your assignments ever created for the given class, choose "Due all time".
In the list for each assignment, there will be a "Delete" button. Deleting an assignment will delete all of that assignment's data and it will be removed from the assignment lists from both teachers and students.