Summary

Archiving a class makes it inaccessible to students. The classroom will still be part of your classrooms list for viewing statistics, but any questions associated with "active" assignments will continue to be blocked for students.

Every summer, we automatically archive classrooms to help teachers ease the transition into the new school year. We provide warning email notifications before our automatic archiving each summer and teachers can always reverse the automatic archiving if they want to continue using a class.

Why archive a class?

Classes are meant to be disposable objects that organize students and assignments. The key word is "organize". Archiving a class when a school year is over and creating a new class for next school year is much better than removing students and adding new ones to the same class.

Archiving-and-recreating allows you to be able to reference past class data to analyze patterns from the past for future classes and is a best practice for record-keeping in general.

How to archive a class

If you'd like to manually archive a classroom, you can do so by:

  1. Click Classes in the top navigation.
  2. Click into the Class you'd like to archive.
  3. Click "Settings."
  4. Click "Archive Class."
  5. Click to confirm you'd like to archive the class.

How to Unarchive

If you'd like to manually unarchive a classroom:

  1. Click Classes in the top navigation.
  2. Click "View archived classes."
  3. Click "View" on the class you'd like to unarchive.
  4. Click the 'Settings' sub-tab.
  5. Click "Unarchive class."
  6. Confirm you'd like to unarchive the class.

Did this answer your question?